STANDARDS SUBCOMMITTEE

SCOPE

  • Responsible for cognizance of current status of standards sponsored by the Committee;
  • Coordinate revision work of base standards by maintaining a list of requested changes and assigning them to the appropriate Technical Subcommittees;
  • Coordinate inputs into a complete and logical document for submission to the Standards Board;
  • Ensure that the terminology and units used in standards developed by the Committee, correspond to what is internationally accepted;
  • Coordinate activities with IEEE Standards Board and Standards Coordinators of other Technical Committees.

One mission of the Standards Subcommittee to periodically produce a comparison study of the IEEE Transformer standards and the corresponding IEC standards (e.g. IEEE C57.12.00, and C57.12.90, vs. IEC 60076-1). As such, the Standards Subcommittee has appointed a standing Task Force for this mission. The purpose of this internal study is to periodically provide a list of major differences between IEEE and IEC standards to the members of the Transformers Committee working groups that are preparing revisions of these documents. This Task Force may also include comparisons of other standards and guides commonly used for Power Transformers. Working Groups should harmonize standards as best as they can, as they develop these standards for the industry. This is an internal document intended only for members of the Transformer Committee.

CHAIR VICE CHAIR SECRETARY
Daniel Sauer
EATON Corporation
Waukesha, WI, U.S.A.
Phone: +1 262 896 2417
email: dmsauer@mtu.edu
Marcos Ferreira
Advisian-Worley Parsons
Vancouver, WA, U.S.A.
Phone: +1 971 703 0777
email: mdferreira@comcast.net/span>
Ajith Varghese
SPX Transformer Solutions
Waukesha WI U.S.A.
Phone: +1 262 442 7197
email: Ajith.Varghese@spx.com/span>

Standards Development and References:

Go to this page to find information on our IEEE liaison, Standards Processes, MyBallot, and helpful hints on developing standards and guides.

SC AGENDA/TOPICS FOR NEXT MEETING

Spring 2021 Standards SC Agenda 29Mar2021
For previous meeting minutes, see Transformers Committee Meetings

PREVIOUS MEETING DISCUSSIONS/TOPICS

Fall 2011- Class I & Class II Discussion 02Dec2011
Insulating Fluids Term Consolidation Presentation 08Jan2012

WORKING GROUPS/TASK FORCES

Standard Title Officers Status Drafts Documents
C57.12.00
Cont. Rev. WG
IEEE Standard for General Requirements For Liquid-Immersed Distribution, Power, and Regulating Transformers Chair: Steve Snyder
Ph: +1 859 219 6057
slsnyder@ieee.org
Active
Pub. 2015
Rev Due: 12/31/2025
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2021
.
.
.
.
C57.12.70
WG
IEEE Standard Terminal Markings and Connections for Distribution and Power Transformers Chair: Jason Varnell
Phone: +1 919 412 2252
jason.r.varnell@ieee.org
Secretary: Kris Zibert
Phone: +1 417 680 7200
Kris.Zibert@amce.com
Inactive
Pub: 2020
Rev Due: 12/31/2030
.
. .
. .
. .
. .
C57.12.80
WG
IEEE Standard Terminology for Power and Distribution Transformers Chair: Jim Graham
Phone: +1 412 478 4450
jimgraham@ieee.org
Secretary: Richard von Gemmingen
Phone: +1 804 316 1137
r.von.gemmingen@dominionenergy.com
Active
Approved 2010
Rev Due: 12/31/2020
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2021
.
.
Fall 2021 Agenda
14Nov2021
13Aug2021 WG Minutes
14Nov2021
Core Form Survey Comments
19Oct2020
Shell Form Survey Comments
19Oct2020
Insul. Liquid Definitions
19Oct2020
C57.12.90
Cont. Rev. WG
IEEE Standard Test Code for Liquid-Immersed Distribution, Power, and Regulating Transformers Chair: Steve Antosz
Phone: +1 412 498 3916
santosz@comcast.net
Active
Pub. 2015
Rev Due: 6/17/2025
PAR Exp.: 2021
. .
. .
Fall 2020 Presentation 21Oct2020
. .
C57.144

 

Guide for Metric Conversion of Transformer Standards Chair: Peter Balma
Phone: +1 973 430 8259
peter.balma@pseg.com
Inactive
Reaffirmed 2010
Rev Due: 12/31/2020
.
.
.
.
C57.152
WG
IEEE Guide for Diagnostic Field Testing of Power Apparatus – Part 1: Oil Filled Power Transformers, Regulators, and Reactors Chair: Marcos Ferreira
Phone: +1 971 703 0777
mdferreira@comcast.net
Secretary: Goran Milojevic
Phone: +1 407 714 1722
goran@dv-power.com
Active
Pub. 2013
Rev Due: 12/31/2023
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2023
Section 7.2 20Apr2021
Section 7.3 20Apr2021
Section 7.4 20Apr2021
Section 7.4 Modified LTC 20Apr2021
Annex J 20Apr2021
Annex K 20Apr2021
DRM Annex Comments NG,LS 21Apr2021
Fall 2021 WG Agenda 11Nov2021
Spring 2021 WG Minutes 11Nov2021
C57.163
WG
Transformer Capability while under Geomagnetic Disturbances Chair: Dan Blaydon
Phone: +1 410 470 8827
daniel.blaydon@exeloncorp.com
Vice-Chair: Ramsis Girgis
Phone: +1 314 409 7080
ramsis.girgis@hitachienergy.com
Secretary: Scott Digby
Phone: +1 919 546 5798
Scott.Digby@duke-energy.com
Active
Pub: 2015
Rev Due: 12/31/2025
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2024
C57.163-2015 15Dec2020, Special PW required
PC57.163 D1 Rev1C 20Oct2021
F21 Comment Resolution D1Rev1C 20Oct2021
Fall 2021 Agenda 11Nov2021.
Spring 2021 Unapproved Minutes 11Nov2021
Spring 2021 Proposed Reorganization  16Apr2021
.
TF
Cont. Rev.
IEEE-IEC Cross Reference Chair: Vinay Mehrotra
Phone: +1 262 446 8503
vinay.mehrotra@spx.com
Active .
.
Fall 2019 Presentation 9Dec2019
TF

 

Insulating Liquids Terminology Chair: Patrick McShane
Phone: +1 262 366 1091
patrick_mcshane@cargill.com
Inactive
Completed 2014
White Paper – Insulating Liquids Terms .
.