POWER TRANSFORMERS SUBCOMMITTEE

SCOPE

  • Study and review engineering aspects of liquid filled power transformers, including transmission transformers, primary unit substation transformers, generator step-up transformers, phase angle regulating transformers, and related products;
  • Develop and maintain related standards, recommended practices and guides for such products;
  • Coordinate with other technical committees, groups, societies and associations as required.
CHAIR VICE CHAIR
SECRETARY
Bill Griesacker
Dusquesne Light Company
154 Dover Drive
Coraopolis, PA 15108, U.S.A.
Phone: +1 412 916 6446
email: wgriesacker@duqlight.com
Alwyn VanderWalt
Electrical Consultants, Inc.
Albuquerque, NM 87107, U.S.A.
Phone: +1 505 639 3245
email: Alwyn.VanderWalt@eciusa.com
Dan Blaydon
Baltimore Gas & Electric
2900 Lord Baltimore Drive
Baltimore, MD 21244, U.S.A.
Phone: +1 410 470 8827
email: daniel.blaydon@exeloncorp.com

SC AGENDA/TOPICS FOR NEXT MEETING

Fall 2021 Agenda 5Nov2021
For previous meeting minutes, see Transformers Committee Meetings

PREVIOUS MEETING DISCUSSIONS/TOPICS

. .

WORKING GROUPS/TASK FORCES

Standard Title Officers Status Drafts Documents
C57.12.10
WG
230kV and Below Safety Requirement Chair: Gary Hoffman
Phone: +1 973 474 2171
grhoffman@advpowertech.com
Inactive
Pub. 2017
Rev Due: 12/31/2027
.
. .
. .
. .
. .
C57.17 Requirements for Arc Furnace Transformers Chair: Robert Ganser
Phone: +1 330 492 8433
rganser@ieee.org
Vice-Chair:
Phone:
.
Inactive
Pub. 2012
Rev Due: 12/31/2022
. .
. .
. .
. .
C57.93
WG
IEEE Guide for Installation and Maintenance of Liquid-Immersed Power Transformers Chair: Mike Lau
Phone: +1 604 224 9343
mike.lau@wicor.com
Secretary: Scott Reed
Phone: +1 304 280 2864
sreed@mvadiagnostics.com
Inactive 
Pub. 2019
Rev Due: 12/31/2029
.
. .
. .
. .
. .
C57.107
WG
IEEE Recommended Practice for Developing Design Specific Operational Limits for
TRs Connected to Generators or Pwr Systems Subject to Significant Short-term
Changes in V and/or Freq
Chair: Joe Watson
Phone: +1 561 371 9138
joe_watson@ieee.org
Secretary: Ramsis Girgis
Phone: +1 314 409 7080
ramsis.girgis@hitachienergy.com
Active 
New Project
PAR Exp.:: 12/31/2025
.
. .
. .
Fall 2021 Agenda 29Oct2021
. .
C57.116
WG
IEEE Guide for Transformers Directly Connected to Generators Chair: Weijun Li
Phone: +1 781 348 1076
wli@beld.com
Vice-Chair: Jason Varnell
jason.r.varnell@ieee.org
Secretary: Bill Griesacker
bgriesacker@verizon.net 
Active
Approved 2014
Rev Due: 12/31/2024
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2023
PAR 1Oct2020
. .
Fall 2020 Agenda 1Oct2020
. .
C57.117 IEEE Guide for Reporting Failure Data for Power Transformers and Shunt Reactors on Electric Utility Power Systems Chair: Wallace Binder
Phone: +1 724 654 3839
wbbinder@ieee.org
Inactive
Withdrawn
. .
. .
. .
. .
C57.125
WG
IEEE Guide for Failure Investigation, Documentation, Analysis and Reporting for Power Transformers and Shunt Reactors Chair: Hakan Sahin
Phone: +1 208 220 6963
hakanshaun@gmail.com
Vice-Chair: Tom Melle
Phone: +1 919 917 8157
tom.melle.us@ieee.org
Secretary: Adam Sewell
Phone: +1 330 872 5707
adamsewell@qualityswitch.com
Active
Pub: 2015
Rev Due: 12/31/2025
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2025
. .
. .
Fall 2021 WG Agenda 12Nov2021
Spring 2021 Unapproved Minutes 12Nov2021
C57-131
WG
Standard Performance requirements and test methods for Tap-changers Chair: Craig A. Colopy
Phone: +1 262 896 2342
CraigAColopy@Eaton.com
Vice-Chair: Axel Kraemer
Phone: +49 941 4090 4050
A.Kraemer@reinhausen.com
Secretary: Adam Sewell
Phone: +1 330 872 5707
adamsewell@qualityswitch.com
Active
Pub: 2012
Rev Due: 12/31/2022
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2024
PC57.131 R1 Redline 8Nov2021
PC57.131 R1 Clean 8Nov2021
Fall 2021 WG Agenda 8Nov2021
Spring 2021 WG Minutes (unapproved) 8Nov2021
C57.135 IEEE Guide for the Application, Specification and Testing of Phase-Shifting Transformers Chair: Jin Sim
jin.sim@ieee.org
Inactive
Pub. 2011 IEEE/IEC Dual Logo 2005, IEC 62032 Ed. 1
Rev Due: 6/16/2021
. .
. .
. .
. .
C57.140 IEEE Guide for Evaluation and Reconditioning of Liquid-Immersed Power Transformers Chair: Paul Boman
Phone: +1 785 256 7161
paul_boman@hsb.com
Inactive
Pub. 2017
Rev Due: 12/31/2027
. .
. .
. .
. .
C57.143
WG
IEEE Guide for Application of Monitoring to Liquid-Immersed Transformers and Components Chair: Mike Spurlock
Phone: +1 614 861 6784
mspurlock@ieee.org
Vice-Chair: Poorvi Patel
Phone: +1 704 232 4551
ppatel@epri.com
Secretary: Elizabeth Bray
Phone: +1 205 992 7136
ebbray@southemco.com
Active
Pub. 2012
Rev Due: 12/31/2022
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2023
C57.143D1 13Nov2021
. .
Fall 2021 Agenda 29Oct2021
28Jun2021 WG Minutes 29Oct2021
Spring 2021 WG Minutes 29Oct2021
Vounteer List 3Jun2020
. .
C57.148
WG
IEEE Standard for Control Cabinets for Power Transformers Chair: Joe Watson
Phone: +1 561 371 9138
joe_watson@ieee.org
Vice-Chair: Weijun Li
Phone: + 781 348 1076
wli@beld.com
Secretary: Jean-Francois Collin
Phone: +1 418 681 0909
jfcollin@nomossystemes.com
Inactive
Pub. 2020
Rev Due: 12/31/2030
.
. .
. .
. .
. .
C57.150
WG
Guide for the Transportation of Transformers and Reactors Rated 10,000kVA or Larger Chair: Greg Anderson
Phone: +1 402 680 1111
gwanderson@ieee.org
Vice-Chair: Ewald Schweiger
ewald.schweiger@ieee.org
Secretary: Marnie Roussell
Phone: +1 504 576 7371
einram10@comcast.net
Active
Pub. 2012
Rev Due: 12/31/2022
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2021
C57.150 D1.1 3Jan2020
CIGRE 673 Special Password
Fall 2019 Minutes 3Jan2020
Fall 2019 WG Assignments 3Jan2020
Fall 2018 Presentation – Swimlanes 29Oct2018
Fall 2018 – CIGRE Review – Schweiger 29Oct2018
Fall 2018 – CIGRE 673 Vs C57.150 29Oct2018
C57.153 IEEE Guide for Paralleling Transformers Chair: Tom Jauch
Phone: +1 813 634 1422
jauch@ieee.org
Inactive
Approved 2015
Rev Due: 12/31/2025
. .
. .
. .
. .
C57.156 IEEE Guide for Transformer Tank Rupture Mitigation of Liquid-Immersed Power Transformers and Reactors Chair: Peter Zhao
Phone: +1 416 345 5926
peter.zhao@hydroone.com
Inactive
Pub. 2016
Rev Due: 12/31/2026
. .
. .
. .
. .
C57.157 IEEE Guide for Conducting Functional Life Tests for De-Energized Tap Changer Contacts Chair: Phil Hopkinson
Phone: +1 704 846 3290
phopkinson@ieee.org
Active
Approved 2015
Rev Due: 12/31/2025
. .
. .
. .
. .
C57.170 Condition Assessment of Transformers Chair: Kumar Mani
Phone: +1 919 546 2791
kumar.mani@duke-energy.com
Vice-Chair: James Cross
Phone: +1 647 489 7920
james.cross@kinectrics.com
Secretary: Akash Joshi
Phone: +1 919 462 7316
JoshiAD@bv.com
Active TF
New Project
PAR Exp: 12/31/2023
C57.170 D015Nov2021
C57.140-2017
C57.143-2012
C57.152-2013
CIGRE_TB445
CIGRE_TB630
CIGRE_TB761 Spec. PW required
Fall 2021 Agenda 1Nov2021
Spring 2021 Unapproved Minutes R2 1Nov2021
Spring 2021 Task Force List 2Jun2021
A2-49 CigrePoster 5Oct2018
A2-49 Cigre & IEEE Comparison Table 5Oct2018
IEEE 638 IEEE Standard for Qualification of Class 1E Transformers for Nuclear power Generating Stations Chair: Craig Swinderman
Phone: +1 901 566 3801
craig.swinderman@meppi.com
Inactive
Approved 2013
Rev Due: 12/31/2023
. .
. .
. .
. .
IEEE/IEC 60076-57-
1202
IEEE Standard Requirements for Phase Shifting Transformers Chair: Raj Ahuja
Phone: +1 408 209 5513
rajahuja2@icloud.com
Inactive
Pub. 2016
Rev Due: 12/31/2026
. .
. .
. .
. .
P60214-2
WG
Tap-Changers – Part 2: Application guide Chair: Craig A. Colopy
Phone: +1 262 896 2342
CraigAColopy@Eaton.com
Vice-Chair: Axel Kraemer
Phone: +49 941 4090 4050
A.Kraemer@reinhausen.com
Secretary: Adam Sewell
Phone: +1 330 872 5707
adamsewell@qualityswitch.com
Inactive
Pub: 2019
Rev Due: 12/31/2029
.
.
. .
. .
TF

 

V/Hz Chair: Kipp Yule
Phone:
kjyule@bechtel.com
Secretary: Joe Watson
Phone:
Joe_watson@ieee.org
Active . .
. .
. .
. .