TRANSFORMERS COMMITTEE IEEE

Subcommittees

POWER TRANSFORMERS SUBCOMMITTEE

SCOPE

  • Study and review engineering aspects of liquid filled power transformers, including transmission transformers, primary unit substation transformers, generator step-up transformers, phase angle regulating transformers, and related products;
  • Develop and maintain related standards, recommended practices and guides for such products;
  • Coordinate with other technical committees, groups, societies and associations as required.
CHAIR VICE CHAIR
SECRETARY
Bill Griesacker
Dusquesne Light Company
154 Dover Drive
Coraopolis, PA 15108, U.S.A.
Phone: +1 412 916 6446
email: wgriesacker@duqlight.com
Alwyn VanderWalt
Public Service Co. of New Mexico
4201 Edith Blvd NE
Albuquerque, NM 87107, U.S.A.
Phone: +1 505 241 3469
email: alwyn.vanderwalt@pnm.com
Dan Blaydon
Baltimore Gas & Electric
2900 Lord Baltimore Drive
Baltimore, MD 21244, U.S.A.
Phone: +1 410 470 8827
email: daniel.blaydon@exeloncorp.com

SC AGENDA/TOPICS FOR NEXT MEETING

Fall 2019 Agenda 21Oct2019
For previous meeting minutes, see Transformers Committee Meetings

PREVIOUS MEETING DISCUSSIONS/TOPICS

. .

WORKING GROUPS/TASK FORCES

Standard Title Officers Status Drafts Documents
C57.12.10
WG
230kV and Below Safety Requirement Chair: Gary Hoffman
Phone: +1 973 474 2171
grhoffman@advpowertech.com
Active 80%
Pub. 2010
Pub Corr. 2012
Rev Due: 12/31/2020
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2019
C57.12.10 D2 21Sep2016
C57-12-10 D2 RedLine 21Sep2016
Straw Ballot Comment Review 3Oct2016
C57.12.10-2010 Cor2-2013 10Apr2015 Special password
C57.12.10-2010 Cor1-2012 10Apr2015 Special password
Fall 2016 WG Minutes 22May2016
Stds Process Presentation 02Jun2015
C57.17 Requirements for Arc Furnace Transformers Chair: Robert Ganser
Phone: +1 330 492 8433
rganser@ieee.org
Vice-Chair:
Phone:
.
Inactive
Pub. 2012
Rev Due: 12/31/2022
. .
C57.93
WG
IEEE Guide for Installation and Maintenance of Liquid-Immersed Power Transformers Chair: Mike Lau
Phone: +1 604 224 9343
mike.lau@wicor.com
Secretary: Scott Reed
Phone: +1 304 280 2864
sreed@mvadiagnostics.com
Active 95%
Pub. 2007
Rev Due: 12/31/2018
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2020
C57.93 D1.4 21Sep2017 C57.93 Web Page
C57.116 IEEE Guide for Transformers Directly Connected to Generators Chair: Gary Hoffman
Phone: +1 973 474 2171
grhoffman@advpowertech.com
Active
Approved 2014
Rev Due: 12/31/2024
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2023
. .
C57.117 IEEE Guide for Reporting Failure Data for Power Transformers and Shunt Reactors on Electric Utility Power Systems Chair: Wallace Binder
Phone: +1 724 654 3839
wbbinder@ieee.org
Inactive
Withdrawn
. .
C57.125
WG
IEEE Guide for Failure Investigation, Documentation, Analysis and Reporting for Power Transformers and Shunt Reactors Chair: Wallace Binder
Phone: +1 724 654 3839
wbbinder@ieee.org
Vice-Chair: Tom Melle
Phone: +1 919 239 5943
trmelle@ncsu.edu
Inactive
Approved 2015
Rev Due: 12/31/2025
. .
C57.135 IEEE Guide for the Application, Specification and Testing of Phase-Shifting Transformers Chair: Jin Sim
jin.sim@ieee.org
Inactive
Pub. 2011 IEEE/IEC Dual Logo 2005, IEC 62032 Ed. 1
Rev Due: 6/16/2021
. .
C57.140 IEEE Guide for Evaluation and Reconditioning of Liquid-Immersed Power Transformers Chair: Paul Boman
Phone: +1 785 256 7161
paul_boman@hsb.com
Inactive
Pub. 2017
Rev Due: 12/31/2027
. .
C57.143
WG
IEEE Guide for Application of Monitoring to Liquid-Immersed Transformers and Components Chair: Mike Spurlock
Phone: +1 614 769 5501
mspurlock@ieee.org
Vice-Chair: Poorvi Patel
Phone: +1 704 232 4551
ppatel@epri.com
Secretary: Elizabeth Bray
Phone: +1 205 992 7136
ebbray@southemco.com
Active
Pub. 2012
Rev Due: 12/31/2022
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2021
C57.143D1.docx 14Oct2019
C57.143D0 Zip 19May2017 Special Password
Spring 2019 Minutes 5Apr2019
Fall 2017 Presentation 19Mar2018
C57.148
WG
IEEE Standard for Control Cabinets for Power Transformers Chair: Joe Watson
Phone: +1 561 371 9138
joe_watson@ieee.org
Vice-Chair: Weijun Li
Phone: + 781 348 1076
wli@beld.com
Secretary: Jean-Francois Collin
Phone: +1 418 681 0909
jfcollin@nomossystemes.com
Active 90%
Pub. 2011
Rev Due: 12/31/2021
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2020
C57.148-2011 DOC Special Password
C57.148-2011 PDF Special Password
.
C57.150
WG
Guide for the Transportation of Transformers and Reactors Rated 10,000kVA or Larger Chair: Greg Anderson
Phone: +1 402 680 1111
gwanderson@ieee.org
Vice-Chair: Ewald Schweiger
ewald.schweiger@ieee.org
Secretary: Marnie Roussell
Phone: +1 504 576 7371
einram10@comcast.net
Active 10%
Pub. 2012
Rev Due: 12/31/2022
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2022
C57.150-2012 Special Password
CIGRE 673 Special Password
Spring 2019 Minutes 11Apr2019
Fall 2019 Agenda 21Oct2019
Spring 2019 Panama Canal-Anderson 11Apr2018
Fall 2018 Presentation – Swimlanes 29Oct2018
Fall 2018 – CIGRE Review – Schweiger 29Oct2018
Fall 2018 – CIGRE 673 Vs C57.150 29Oct2018
C57.153 IEEE Guide for Paralleling Transformers Chair: Tom Jauch
Phone: +1 813 634 1422
jauch@ieee.org
Inactive
Approved 2015
Rev Due: 12/31/2025
. .
C57.156 IEEE Guide for Transformer Tank Rupture Mitigation of Liquid-Immersed Power Transformers and Reactors Chair: Peter Zhao
Phone: +1 416 345 5926
peter.zhao@hydroone.com
Inactive
Pub. 2016
Rev Due: 12/31/2026
. .
C57.157 IEEE Guide for Conducting Functional Life Tests for De-Energized Tap Changer Contacts Chair: Phil Hopkinson
Phone: +1 704 846 3290
phopkinson@ieee.org
Active
Approved 2015
Rev Due: 12/31/2025
. .
C57.170 Chair: Kumar Mani
Phone: +1 919 546 2791
kumar.mani@duke-energy.com
Vice-Chair: James Cross
Phone: +1 647 489 7920
james.cross@kinectrics.com
Secretary: Akash Joshi
Phone: +1 919 462 7316
JoshiAD@bv.com
Active
New Project
PAR Exp: 12/31/2023
C57.140-2017
C57.143-2012
C57.152-2013
CIGRE_TB445
CIGRE_TB630
CIGRE_TB761 Spec. PW required
Fall 2019 Unapproved Minutes 15Oct2019
IEEE 638 IEEE Standard for Qualification of Class 1E Transformers for Nuclear power Generating Stations Chair: Craig Swinderman
Phone: +1 901 566 3801
craig.swinderman@meppi.com
Inactive
Approved 2013
Rev Due: 12/31/2023
. .
IEEE/IEC 60076-57-
1202
IEEE Standard Requirements for Phase Shifting Transformers Chair: Raj Ahuja
Phone: +1 408 209 5513
rajahuja2@icloud.com
Active
Pub. 2016
Rev Due: 12/31/2026
. .
P60214-1-
57-131
WG
Tap-Changers – Part 1: Performance requirements and test methods Chair: Craig A. Colopy
Phone: +1 262 896 2342
CraigAColopy@Eaton.com
Vice-Chair: Axel Kraemer
Phone: +49 941 4090 4050
A.Kraemer@reinhausen.com
Secretary: Adam Sewell
Phone: +1 330 872 5707
adamsewell@qualityswitch.com
Active
C57.131 Pub. 2012
Rev Due: 12/31/2022
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2020
IEC 60214-1 ED2 IEEE C57.131-2012
Special password
PAR 8Jan2017
Spring 2016 Agenda 23Mar2017
Fall 2016 Minutes 8Jan2017
Spring 2016 Minutes 10Oct2016
Supporting Documents Special password – 10Oct2016
P60214-2
WG
Tap-Changers – Part 2: Application guide Chair: Craig A. Colopy
Phone: +1 262 896 2342
CraigAColopy@Eaton.com
Vice-Chair: Axel Kraemer
Phone: +49 941 4090 4050
A.Kraemer@reinhausen.com
Secretary: Adam Sewell
Phone: +1 330 872 5707
adamsewell@qualityswitch.com
Active
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2018
950e 17Oct2018 Special Password
973e 17Oct2018 Special Password
FDIS 6214-2 Clean with new figures 17Oct2018 Special Password
FDIS 6214-2 Red Line 17Oct2018 Special Password
P60214-2 Web Page
TF

 

Condition Assessment of Transformers Chair: Kumar Mani
Phone: +1 919 546 2791
kumar.mani@duke-energy.com
Vice-Chair: James Cross
Phone: +1 647 489 7920
James.Cross@kinectrics.com
Secretary: Akash Joshi
Phone: +1 919 462 7316
JoshiAD@bv.com
Active . Fall 2018 Unapproved Minutes 7Nov2018
A2-49_CigrePoster 5Oct2018
A2-49 Cigre & IEEE Comparison Table 5Oct2018