Performance Characteristics Subcommittee

SCOPE

  • Study and review the treatment of loss, impedance, exciting current, inrush current and other performance characteristics and their methods of application, measurement or test for liquid filled transformers and reactors;
  • Develop and maintain related standards, recommended practices and guides for such criteria;
  • Coordinate with other technical committees, groups, societies and associations as required.
CHAIR VICE CHAIR
SECRETARY
Rogerio Verdolin
Verdolin Solutions Inc.
Calgary, AB Canada
Phone: +1 403 850 4304
email: roger.verdolin@shaw.ca
Sanjib K. Som
Pennsylvania Transformer
Pittsburgh, PA, U.S.A.
Phone: +1 540 204 7670
email: ssom@patransformer.com
Kris Zibert
Allgeier, Martin and Associates, Inc.
7231 East 24th Street
Joplin, Missouri 64804, U.S.A.
Phone: +1 417 680 7200
email: kris.zibert@amce.com

SC AGENDA/TOPICS FOR NEXT MEETING

Fall 2021 PCS Agenda  4Nov2021
For previous meeting minutes, see Transformers Committee Meetings

WORKING GROUPS/TASK FORCES

Standard Title Officers Status Drafts Documents
P60076-16
WG
Standard Requirements for Wind Turbine Generator Transformers Chair: Philip Hopkinson
Phone: (704) 846 3290
phopkinson@hvolt.com
Secretary: Donald E. Ayers
Phone: +1 704 243 3222
donald.ayers@ieee.org
Inactive
Pub: 2018
Rev Due: 12/31/28
..
..
..
..
C57.12.00 Cont. Rev.
TF
IEEE Standard General Requirements for Liquid-Immersed Distribution, Power, and Regulating Transformers Chair: Tauhid H. Ansari
Phone: +1 314 420 8597
tauhid.ansari@hitachi-powergrids.com
Secretary: Enrique Betancourt
Phone:
ebetanco@ieee.org
Active ..
..
Fall 2021 Agenda 11Nov2021
Spring 2021 Minutes R1.11Nov2021
C57.12.90 Cont. Rev.
TF
IEEE Standard Test Code for Liquid-Immersed Distribution, Power, and Regulating Transformers Chair: Hakan Sahin
Phone: +1 208 220 6963
hakanshaun@gmail.com
Secretary: Pugazhenthi Selvaraj
Phone: +1 540 519 5799
pugal2006@gmail.com
Active ..
..
Fall 2021 Agenda R27Nov2021
Spring 2021 Minutes R1 7Nov2021
Spring 2021 TF Presentation 27Apr2021
Fall 2020 TF Minutes 19Apr2021
Winding Resistance 14Oct2020
OLTC Tests 14Oct2020
Ratio Tests 14Oct2020
C57.12.90 Section 9.5 zero seq with Modifications 14Mar2013
C57.12.90 Cont. Rev.
TF
Section 13 Sound Level Measurement Chair: Ramsis Girgis
Phone: +1 314 409 7080
ramsis.girgis@hitachienergy.com
Secretary: Barry Beaster
Phone: +1 636 677 3421 x392
blbeaster@ieee.org
Active ..
..
Spring 2019 Minutes 16Aprt2019..
C57.18.10
WG
IEEE Standard Practices and Requirements for Semiconductor Power Rectifier Transformers Chair: Sheldon Kennedy
Phone: +1 716 896 6500
skennedy@
niagaratransformer.com
Vice-Chair: Bill Whitehead
Phone:

Secretary: David Walker
Phone: +1 520 484 5338
djwalker1260@gmail.com
Active 50%
Reaffirmed 2009
Rev Due: 12/31/2019
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2022
C57.18.10 D11 29Jun2021 Spring 2020 Agenda 6Mar2020
Fall 2019 Minutes 6Mar2020
C57.21
WG
IEEE Standard Requirements, Terminology, and Test Code for Shunt Reactors Rated Over 500 kVA Chair: Sanjib Som
Phone: +1 540 204 7670
ssom@patransformer.com
Vice Chair: Arturo Del Rio
Phone: +1 416 298 8108 x404
Arturo.delrio@trench-group.com
Secretary: Kris Zibert
Phone: +1 417 680 7200
kris.zibert@amce.com
Active 
Pub: 2021
Rev Due: 12/31/2031
.
. .
. .
. .
. .

C57.32

 

IEEE Standard Requirements, Terminology, and Testing Procedures for Neutral Grounding Devices Chair: Sheldon Kennedy
Phone: +1 716 896 6500
skennedy@
nagaratransformer.com
Vice-Chair: Tom Melle
Phone: +1 919 917 8157
tom.melle.us@ieee.org
Secretary: Fred Elliott
Phone: +1 360 418 2269
felliott@ieee.org
Inactive
Approved 2015
Rev Due: 12/31/2025
. .
. .
. .
. .
C57.32.10 – Entity Oversight
TF
Guide for the Selection of Neutral-Grounding Devices for HVDC Converter Transformers Chair:
Phone:
.
Active
.
..
..
..
..
C57.32.10
Entity WG
Guide for the Selection of Neutral-Grounding Devices for HVDC Converter Transformers Chair: Zhang Hua
Phone: +86 199 8337 2217
zhanghua0002@163.com
Secretary: Xu Yin
Phone: +86 185 1900 4061
xuyin@bjtu.edu.cn
Active
New Project
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2022
C57.32.10 Outline 16May2019 May 30-31, 2019 Unapproved Minutes 16May2019
C57.105
WG
IEEE Guide for Application of Transformer
Connections in Three-Phase Distribution Systems
Chair: Rogerio Verdolin
Phone: +1 403 850 4304
roger.verdolin@shaw.ca
Vice-Chair: Ben Garcia
Phone: +1 714 895 0787
Benjamin.Garcia@sce.com
Inactive
Pub: 2019
Rev Due: 12/31/2029
.
C57.105 D6 19Mar2018
C57.105 D6 Redline 19Mar2018
. .
. .
C57.109
WG
IEEE Guide for Liquid-Immersed Transformers Through-Fault-Current Duration Chair: Vinay Mehrotra
Phone: +1 262 547 0121 x1353
Vinay.Mehrotra@spx.com
Vice-Chair: Hemchandra
Shertukde
Phone: +1 860 768 4847
Shertukde@hartford.edu
Secretary: Jason Varnell
Phone: +1 919 221 9793
jason.varnell@spx.com
Inactive 
Reaffirmed 2018
Rev Due: 12/31/2018
.
C57.109 D1.1 19Mar2017 . .
. .
C57.110
WG
IEEE Recommended Practice for Establishing Transformer Capability When Supplying Nonsinusoidal Load Currents Chair: Richard Marek
Phone: +1 804-383-2376
Richard.P.Marek@usa.dupont.com
Secretary: Samuel L. Sharpless
Phone: +1 407 257 0209
slsharpl@rimkus.com
Inactive
Pub. 2018
Rev Due: 12/31/2028
.
. .
. .
. .
. .
C57.120
.
IEEE Loss Evaluation Guide for Power Transformers and Reactors Chair: Rogerio Verdolin
Phone: +1 403 850 4304
roger.verdolin@shaw.ca
Vice-Chair: Rod Sauls
Phone: +1 205 257 4143
RESAULS@southernco.com
Inactive
Pub: 2017
Rev Due: 12/31/2027
. .
. .
. .
. .
C57.123
WG
IEEE Guide for Transformer Loss Measurement Chair: Ed TeNyenhuis
Phone: +1 519 837 4691
edt@ieee.org
Secretary: Tony Franchitti
Phone: +1 610 648 7952
anthony.franchitti@
exeloncorp.com
inactive
Approved 2019
Rev Due: 12/31/2029
.
PC57.123D1 3Apr2018 Spring 2018 WG Minutes 3Apr2018
Spring 2018 Loss Measurement Presentation 3Apr2018
C57.133
.
Guide for Short-Circuit Testing of Distribution and Power Transformers Chair: Marcel Fortin
Phone: +1 450 922 0925
fortin.marcel@ieee.org
Inactive
Rev Due: 12/31/2019 Par Withdrawn
. .
. .
. .
. .
C57.136
.
IEEE Guide for Audible Sound of Liquid-Immersed Power Transformers Chair: Steve Antosz
Phone: +1 412 498 3916
santosz@comcast.net
Vice-Chair: Ramsis Girgis
Phone: +1 314 409 7080
ramsis.girgis@hitachienergy.com
Secretary: Mats Bernesjo
Phone: +1 314 614 0962
mats.s.bernesjo@hitachienergy.com
Active
Reaffirmed 2005
Rev Due: 12/31/2018 Par expires 12/31/2025
PC57.136 D 2e 15Nov2021
. .
. .
Fall 2021 Presentation 15Nov2021
C57.142
WG
A Guide To Describe The Occurrence And Mitigation Of Switching Transients Induced By Transformer-Breaker Interaction Chair: Jim McBride
Phone: +1 770 460 6626
jim@jmxservices.com
Vice-Chair: Xose Lopez-
Fernandez
xmlopez@uvigo.es
Secretary: Tom Melle
Phone: +1 919 917 8157
tom.melle.us@ieee.org
Active 
Approved 2010
Rev Due: 12/31/2020
PAR Exp: 12/31/2023
PC57.142 D9B  14Oct2020 Fall 2021 WG Agenda 11Nov2021
Spring 2021 WG Minutes 11Nov2021
Fall 2020 Switching Mitigation Concepts-Hopkinson 20Oct2020
Fall 2020 WG Presentation 20Oct2020
F17 Special Terminated Lightning Impulse 2Nov2017
F17 Impact of Different Neutral Grounding Methods – Ziomek 31Oct2017
S17 Reactor Switching Transients – McBride 31Oct2017
Spring 2016 HV & EHV Transients Paper 22Mar2016
C57.149
WG
Guide for the Application and Interpretation of Frequency Response Analysis for Oil Immersed Transformers Chair: Charles Sweetser
Phone: +1 781 672 6214
charles.sweetser@omicronusa.com
Vice-Chair: Poorvi Patel
+1 704 232 4551
ppatel@epri.com
Active
Approved 2012
Rev Due: 12/31/2022
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2022
. .
. .
. .
. .
C57.158
WG
Guide for the Application of Tertiary and Stabilizing Windings in Power Transformers Chair: Enrique Betancourt
Phone: 0528180302135
enrique.betancourt.ramirez@indsys.ge.c
Secretary: Brian Penny
Phone: +1 262 832 8709
.
Inactive
Pub: 2017
Rev Due:.: 12/31/2027
. . . .
. .
C57.159
.
Guide for Application in Distributed Photovoltaic(DPV) Transformers in Power Generation Systems Chair: Hemchandra M. Shertukde
Phone: +1 860-768-4847
Shertukde@hartford.edu
Vice-Chair: Mathieu Sauzay
Phone: 33478778164
Mathieu.Sauzay@jst-transformers.com
Secretary: Aleksandr Levin
Phone: +1 802 751 3352
aleksandr.levin@wicor.com
Inactive
Approved 2016
Rev Due: 12/31/2026
. .
. .
. .
. .
C57.164
WG
Guide for theoretical evaluation of the ability to withstand effects of short circuit on Fluid-Filled Power Transformers, Regulators, and Reactors Chair: Sanjay Patel
Phone:
s.patel@smitusa.com
Vice-Chair: Raj Ahuja
Phone: +1 408 209 5513
rajahuja2@icloud.com
Secretary: Joe Watson
Phone: +1 561 371 9138
joe_watson@ieee.org
Active 
New Project
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2022
PC57.164 D6 8Mar2021
Fall 2017 Presentation 1 28Nov2017
Fall 2017 Presentation 2 28Nov2017
TR Testing – KEMA Experience 12Sep2017
TF
Core Gassing and Grounding Chair: David Buckmaster
Phone: +1 980 321 8381
david.buckmaster@shawgrp.com
Secretary: Donald E. Ayers
Phone: +1 704 243 3222
donald.ayers@ieee.org
Active . .
. .
. .
. .
TF
Short Circuit Design Criteria Chair: David Buckmaster
Phone: +1 980 321 8381
david.buckmaster@shawgrp.com
Active . .
. .
. .
. .
TF Insulating Liquid for Factory Testing Chair: Ed teNyenhuis
Phone: +1 980 321 8381
edt@ieee.org
Active . .
. .
Spring 2018 TF Unapproved Minutes 29Mar2018
Spring 2018 Ester Liquid 29Mar2018
TF
LTC Diagnostics Guide Chair: Marcos Ferreira
Phone: +1 360-567-4314
marcos.ferreira@advisian.com
Vice-Chair: Raka Levi
Phone: +1 617 818 8755
rakal@amforum.org
Secretary: Tauhid Ansari
Phone: +1 314 679 4543
tauhid.ansari@hitachi-powergrids.com
Active . .
. .
Spring 2018 DRM 4Jun2018
Spring 2018 DRM-Werelius 4Jun2018
Spring 2018 DRM- Practical Experiences – Plath 4Jun2018