INSULATION LIFE SUBCOMMITTEE

SCOPE

  • Study and review methods to determine maximum safe insulation temperatures, ambient temperatures, insulation aging characteristics, safe duration of loads in excess of nameplate (including short circuits) and also to determine methods of calculating or measuring temperatures reached during both transient and steady state loads;
  • Develop and maintain related standards, recommended practices and guides for such criteria;
  • Coordinate with other technical committees, groups, societies and associations as required.
CHAIR VICE CHAIR
SECRETARY
Sheldon Kennedy
Niagara Transformer
1747 Dale Road
Buffalo, NY 14225, U.S.A.
Phone: +1 716 896 6500
email: skennedy@niagaratransformer.com
Sam Sharpless
Rimkus Consulting Group
377 Douglas Avenue, Suite 1008
Altamonte Springs, FL 32714, U.S.A.
Phone: +1 407 661 1245
email: slsharpless@rimkus.com
Jinesh Malde
Midel
3441 Lawrenceville Suwanee Rd.
Suwanee, GA 30024, U.S.A.
Phone: +1 404 900 9229
email: jineshmalde@mimaterials.com

SC AGENDA/TOPICS FOR NEXT MEETING

Fall 2020 ILSC Agenda 12Oct2020
Spring 2017 – TCSEE 0002 – Guide for the Selection of High Voltage Lead Exits for 1000kV Transformers and Reactors 7Mar2017, committee password required to access
Spring 2017 – TCSEE Lead Exit Standard V3 7Mar2017, committee password required to access
WTI TF Report 25Oct2015
For previous meeting minutes, see Transformers Committee Meetings

PREVIOUS MEETING DISCUSSIONS/TOPICS

Spring 2012 Presentation on Aging 03Apr2012
Proposed New WG on High Temperature TRs 16Mar2008
Tie-plate Insulation Limits 16Mar2008

WORKING GROUPS/TASK FORCES

Standard Title Officers Status Drafts Documents
C57.91
WG
IEEE Guide for Loading Mineral-Oil-Immersed Transformers Chair: David Wallach
Phone: +1 980 373 4167
david.wallach@duke-energy.com
Vice-Chair: Javier Arteaga
Phone: +1 919 743 5488
javier.arteaga@ieee.org
Secretary: Kumar Mani
Phone: +1 919 546 2791
kumar.mani@duke-energy.com
Active
Approved 2011
Rev Due: 12/31/2021
PC57.91 Draft 3 23Feb2020 Fall 2020 Minutes 7Nov2020
Fall 2020 Agenda 1Oct2020
IEEE-IEC Loading Guide Comparison 20Oct2020
Fall 2019 Minutes 19Mar2019
Spring 2019 Minutes 17Apr2019
C57.100
WG
IEEE Standard Test Procedure for Thermal Evaluation of Liquid-Immersed Distribution and Power Transformers Chair: Roger Wicks
Phone: +1 804 383 3300
roger.c.wicks@usa.dupont.com
Active
Rev Due: 12/31/2021
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2022
. Spring 2018 PC57.100 WG Minutes 5Oct2018
Spring 2019 Presentations:
Weidmann 10Mar2019 PW Req.
Chair Presentation 10Mar2019 PW Req.
Sbravati, Cargill 10Mar2019 PW Req.
NEMA MW15-C Overview 10Mar2019 PW Req.
C57.119
WG
IEEE Recommended Practice for Performing Temperature Rise Tests on Oil Immersed Power Transformers at Loads Beyond Nameplate Ratings Chair: Gael Kennedy
Phone: +1 402 881 0421
grkennedy@ieee.org
Inactive
Pub 2018
Rev Due: 2026
.
. .
C57.145

 

Guide for the Definition of Thermal Duplicate Liquid-Immersed Distribution, Power, and Regulating Transformers Chair:
Phone:

Vice-Chair:
Phone:
Inactive
Previously P1524, PAR Withdrawn
. .
C57.154

 

Design, Testing and App of Liquid-Immersed
Transformers with High-Temp Insulation
Chair: Richard Marek
Phone: +1 804 768 0748
rick.marek@gmail.com
Vice-Chair: Anastasia O’Malley
Phone: +1 212 460 6514
omalleya@coned.com
Secretary: Ewald Schweiger
Phone:
schweiger.ewald@siemens-energy.com
 
Active
PAR Exp.:
Rev Due: 12/31/2022
Std 1276-2020 7May2020, Special Password Rqrd.
PC57.154D3-RedLine 16Oct2020
F19 Unapproved Minutes 20Sep2020
S19 Unapproved Minutes 20Sep2020
F19 TF Report 20Sep2020
F18 Unapproved Minutes 20Sep2020
F19 Presentation 7May2020
F18 Presentation-Amended Ewald 7May2020
S19 Presentation-Ester meets Hybrid 25Apr2019
S19 Meeting Presentation 25Apr2019
C57.162
WG
Interpretation of Moisture Related Parameters Chair: Tom Prevost
Phone: +1 800 664 2766
tprevost@ieee.org
Vice-Chair: Valery Davydov
valery.davydov@ieee.org
Secretary: Deanna L Woods
Phone: +1 217 497 1855
deannawoods@alliantenergy.com
Active
New Project
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2020
Roizman Column #1
Roizman Column #2
Roizman Column #3
Fall 2020 Agenda 16Oct2020
Fall 2019 Minutes 16Oct2020
————————-
Fall Davydov Presentation
25Oct2016
S15 TOC, Scope, & Section 6 28Oct2015
S15 Chair Report 28Oct2015
Fall 2013 Presentation by Valery Davydov 13Nov2013
New Moisture Guide – Tech Con Asia Pacific 2012 by Valery Davydov 13Nov2013 special password
Spring 2012 Presentation by Valery Davydov 17Mar2012
C57.165
WG
Guide for Temperature Measurements for Liquid Immersed Transformers and Reactors Chair: Mark Tostrud
Phone: +1 262 746-1230
mark.tostrud@ieee.org
Vice-Chair:Zan Kiparizoski
Phone: +1 601 399 3024
zkiparizoski@ieee.org
Active
New Project
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2021
PC57.165D4 22Oct2019 Fall 2018 Ambient Temperature Proposal – Hoffman/Anderson 14Oct2018
C57.169 (replaces IEEE 1538)
WG
IEEE Guide for Determination of Maximum Winding Temperature Rise in Liquid-Immersed Transformers Chair: Scott Digby
Phone: +1 919 546 5798
scott.digby@duke-energy.com
Secretary: Cihangir (John) Sen
cihangir.sen@duke-energy.com
Active
New Project
PAR Exp.: 2023
. .
IEEE 1276
WG
IEEE Guide for the Application of High-Temperature Insulation Materials in Liquid-Immersed Power Transformers Chair: Roger Wicks
Phone: +1 804 383 3300
roger.c.wicks@usa.dupont.com
Inactive
Pub: 2020
Rev Due: 12/31/2030
 
P1276 D3 31Oct2019
Fall 2018 Minutes 31Oct2019
Spring 2018 Minutes 31Oct2019
C57.12.90, Clause 11
TF
Temperature Rise Test Chair: Dinesh Sankarakurup
Phone: +1 919 546-7776
dinesh.sankarakurup@duke-energy.com 
Active . .
C57.12.00, Clause 5.11.1.4
TF
Rises of metallic parts other than windings Chair: Toby Johnson
Phone: +1 801 631 0019
toby.johnson@pacificorp.com
Active . Spring 2020 TF Agenda 4Mar2020
Spring 2020 TF Background Info 4Mar2020