TRANSFORMERS COMMITTEE IEEE

Subcommittees

INSULATION LIFE SUBCOMMITTEE

SCOPE

  • Study and review methods to determine maximum safe insulation temperatures, ambient temperatures, insulation aging characteristics, safe duration of loads in excess of nameplate (including short circuits) and also to determine methods of calculating or measuring temperatures reached during both transient and steady state loads;
  • Develop and maintain related standards, recommended practices and guides for such criteria;
  • Coordinate with other technical committees, groups, societies and associations as required.
CHAIR VICE CHAIR
SECRETARY
Sheldon Kennedy
Niagara Transformer
1747 Dale Road
Buffalo, NY 14225, U.S.A.
Phone: +1 716 896 6500
email: skennedy@niagaratransformer.com
Barry Beaster
H-J Enterprises, Inc.
3010 High Ridge Blvd
High Ridge, MO 63049, U.S.A.
Phone: +1 601 892 6439
email: blbeaster@ieee.org
Jinesh Malde
Midel
3441 Lawrenceville Suwanee Rd.
Suwanee, GA 30024, U.S.A.
Phone: +1 404 900 9229
email: jineshmalde@mimaterials.com

SC AGENDA/TOPICS FOR NEXT MEETING

Fall 2019 ILSC Agenda 16Oct2019
Spring 2017 – TCSEE 0002 – Guide for the Selection of High Voltage Lead Exits for 1000kV Transformers and Reactors 7Mar2017, committee password required to access
Spring 2017 – TCSEE Lead Exit Standard V3 7Mar2017, committee password required to access
WTI TF Report 25Oct2015
For previous meeting minutes, see Transformers Committee Meetings

PREVIOUS MEETING DISCUSSIONS/TOPICS

Spring 2012 Presentation on Aging 03Apr2012
Proposed New WG on High Temperature TRs 16Mar2008
Tie-plate Insulation Limits 16Mar2008

WORKING GROUPS/TASK FORCES

Standard Title Officers Status Drafts Documents
C57.91
WG
IEEE Guide for Loading Mineral-Oil-Immersed Transformers Chair: David Wallach
Phone: +1 980 373 4167
david.wallach@duke-energy.com
Vice-Chair: Javier Arteaga
Phone: +1 919 743 5488
javier.arteaga@ieee.org
Secretary: Kumar Mani
Phone: +1 919 546 2791
kumar.mani@duke-energy.com
Active
Approved 2011
Rev Due: 12/31/2021
PC57.91 Draft 2 27Feb2019 Spring 2019 Minutes 17Apr2019
Fall 2019 Agenda 10Oct2019
C57.100
WG
IEEE Standard Test Procedure for Thermal Evaluation of Liquid-Immersed Distribution and Power Transformers Chair: Roger Wicks
Phone: +1 804 383 3300
roger.c.wicks@usa.dupont.com
Active
Rev Due: 12/31/2021
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2022
. Spring 2018 PC57.100 WG Minutes 5Oct2018
Spring 2019 Presentations:
Weidmann 10Mar2019 PW Req.
Chair Presentation 10Mar2019 PW Req.
Sbravati, Cargill 10Mar2019 PW Req.
NEMA MW15-C Overview 10Mar2019 PW Req.
C57.119
WG
IEEE Recommended Practice for Performing Temperature Rise Tests on Oil Immersed Power Transformers at Loads Beyond Nameplate Ratings Chair: Gael Kennedy
Phone: +1 402 881 0421
grkennedy@ieee.org
Inactive
Reaffirmed 2010
Rev Due: 12/31/2020
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2022
. .
C57.145

 

Guide for the Definition of Thermal Duplicate Liquid-Immersed Distribution, Power, and Regulating Transformers Chair:
Phone:

Vice-Chair:
Phone:
Inactive
Previously P1524, PAR Withdrawn
. .
C57.154

 

Design, Testing and App of Liquid-Immersed
Transformers with High-Temp Insulation
Chair: Richard Marek
Phone: +1 804 383 2376
Richard.P.Marek@usa.dupont.com
Active
PAR Exp.:
Rev Due: 12/31/2022
. S19 Presentation-Ester meets Hybrid 25Apr2019
S19 Meeting Presentation 25Apr2019
C57.162
WG
Interpretation of Moisture Related Parameters Chair: Tom Prevost
Phone: +1 800 664 2766
tprevost@ieee.org
Vice-Chair: Valery Davydov
valery.davydov@ieee.org
Secretary: Deanna L Woods
Phone: +1 217 497 1855
deannawoods@alliantenergy.com
Active
New Project
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2017
Roizman Column #1
Roizman Column #2
Roizman Column #3
Fall 2019 Agenda 25Oct2019
Spring 2019 Minutes 25Oct2019
————————-
Fall Davydov Presentation
25Oct2016
S15 TOC, Scope, & Section 6 28Oct2015
S15 Chair Report 28Oct2015
Fall 2013 Presentation by Valery Davydov 13Nov2013
New Moisture Guide – Tech Con Asia Pacific 2012 by Valery Davydov 13Nov2013 special password
Spring 2012 Presentation by Valery Davydov 17Mar2012
C57.165
WG
Guide for Temperature Measurements for Liquid Immersed Transformers and Reactors Chair: Phil McClure
Phone: +1 954 755 7111 x212
phil.mcclure@ieee.org
Vice-Chair:Robert Thompson
Phone: +1 704 975 4119
rthompson@rstc-pc.com
Active
New Project
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2021
PC57.165D4 22Oct2019 Fall 2018 Ambient Temperature Proposal – Hoffman/Anderson 14Oct2018
C57.169 (replaces IEEE 1538)
WG
IEEE Guide for Determination of Maximum Winding Temperature Rise in Liquid-Immersed Transformers Chair: Scott Digby
Phone: +1 919 546 5798
scott.digby@duke-energy.com
Secretary: Cihangir (John) Sen
cihangir.sen@duke-energy.com
Active

PAR Exp.: Pending
. .
IEEE 1276
WG
IEEE Guide for the Application of High-Temperature Insulation Materials in Liquid-Immersed Power Transformers Chair: Roger Wicks
Phone: +1 804 383 3300
roger.c.wicks@usa.dupont.com
Active 95%
Approved 2012
Rev Due: 12/31/2018
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2018
P1276 D3 31Oct2019
Fall 2018 Minutes 31Oct2019
Spring 2018 Minutes 31Oct2019
C57.12.90, Clause 11
TF
Temperature Rise Test Chair: Robert Thompson
Phone: +1 704 975 4119
rthompson@rstc-pc.com
Active . .