TRANSFORMERS COMMITTEE IEEE

Subcommittees

DIELECTRIC TEST SUBCOMMITTEE

SCOPE

  • Study and review engineering aspects of test voltage requirements for service conditions, or conversely, voltage tests that will determine that service requirements are met for liquid filled transformers and reactors;
  • Develop and maintain related standards, recommended practices and guides for such criteria;
  • Coordinate with other technical committees, groups, societies and associations as required.
CHAIR VICE CHAIR SECRETARY
Ajith M. Varghese
SPX Transformer Solutions, Inc.
400 S. Prairie Avenue
Waukesha, WI 53186-5969, U.S.A.
Phone: +1 262 547 0121 Ext. 1343
Phone: +1 262 442 7197
email: ajith.varghese@spx.com
Thang Hochanh
Consulting Tests Services
HV Apparatus & Power Transfs. and Distr. Transfs. Tests Laboratory
149 Godin
Sherbrooke (Qc) Can J1R 0S6
Phone: +1 819 821 3636 x 244
Phone: +1 514 796 3697
email: thanghochanh@surplec.com
Dr. Poorvi Patel
EPRI
1300 West WT Harris Blvd
Charlotte, NC, 28262-7097, U.S.A.
Phone: +1 704 232 4551
email: ppatel@epri.com

SC AGENDA/TOPICS FOR NEXT MEETING

Fall 2019 Dielectric Test SC Agenda 17Oct2019
Spring 2019 Presentation 22Apr2019
Spring 2018 Presentation on Guide for Frequency Domain Spectroscopy Measurement of Bushings for Transformers 28Mar2018
For previous meeting minutes, see Transformers Committee Meetings

PREVIOUS MEETING DISCUSSIONS/TOPICS

Spring 2017 Presentation – Field Guide for Partial Discharge Measurement 13Mar2017, PAR Request 13Mar2017
Fall Presentation – Impulse Test Concepts, Phil Hopkinson 27Oct2016

WORKING GROUPS/TASK FORCES

Standard Title Officers Status Drafts Documents
C57.98
WG
IEEE Guide for Transformer Impulse Tests Chair: Thang Hochanh
Phone: +1 819-821-3636
thanghochanh@surplec.com
Vice-Chair: Reto Fausch
Phone: +1 949-374-9601
retofausch@ieee.org
Secretary: John Foschia
Phone: +1 919-273-7411
John.Foschia@spx.com
Active
Approved 2011
PAR Exp. 2022
Rev Due: 12/31/2021
. .
C57.113
WG
IEEE Guide for Partial Discharge Measurement in Liquid-Filled Power Transformers and Shunt Reactors Chair: Ali Naderian
Phone: +1 647-300-8836
ali.naderian@metsco.ca>
Secretary: John Foschia
Phone: +1 919-273-7411
John.Foschia@spx.com
Active
Pub. 2010
Rev Due: 12/31/2020>
. Fall 2018 Presentation 17Oct2018
C57.127
WG
IEEE Guide for the Detection of Acoustic Emissions from Partial Discharges in Oil-Immersed Power Transformers Chair: Detlev Gross
Phone: 011 49 241 74927
gross@pdix.com
Vice-Chair: Jack Harley
Phone: +1 330-242-0046
jack.harley@FirstPowerGroup
LLC.com
Inactive
Approved 2018
Rev Due: 12/31/2028
. .
C57.138
IEEE Recommended Practice for Routine Impulse Test for Distribution Transformers Chair: Art Molden
Phone: +1 845-225-0993
a.molden@ameesco.com
Vice-Chair: JD Brafa
Phone: +1 731-696-5240
j.d.brafa@us.abb.com
Inactive
Reaffirmed 2005
Rev Due: 12/31/2018
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2026
. .
C57.160
WG
Guide for PD Measurement in HV Bushings and Inst Transformers Chair: Thang Hochanh
Phone: +1 819-821-3636
thanghochanh@surplec.com
Active 90%
New Project
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2019
PC57.160 D7 25Oct2017 Fall 2017 WG Agenda 25Oct2017
Spring 2017 Unapproved Minutes 25Oct2017
Fall 2016 Unapproved Minutes 25Oct2017
PC57.161
WG
Guide for DFR Measurements Chair: Ali Naderian
Phone: +1 416-797-3724
a.naderian@gmail.com
Inactive
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2017
. . . .
. .
C57.168
WG
Guide for Low Frequency Dielectric Testing for Distribution, Power and Regulating Transformers Chair: Dan Sauer
Phone: +1 262-896-2417
DanielMSauer@Eaton.com
Active
PAR Exp.: 12/31/2022
. Fall 2018 WG Agenda 27Sep2018
C57.12.90 Continuous Revision
TF
Revision of Low Frequency Tests Chair: Bill Griesacker
Phone: +1 412-916-6446
wgriesacker@duqlight.com
Active – Cont. . Fall 2019 TF Agenda 16Oct2019
Spring 2019 Unapproved Minutes 16Oct2019
Fall 2019 Core Gassing Proposal 17Oct2019
Bushing PD Statement 5Oct2018
Proposed Rev: 10.8.2 for pressure during Induced Test 17Mar2016
Proposed Rev: Tap Changer Position during Induced Test 17Mar2016
Single-Phase Test Circuit – HV Delta 17Mar2016
C57.12.200 Entity Ballot Oversight
TF
IEEE Guide for Frequency Domain Spectroscopy of Bushings for Transformers Chair: Poorvi Patel
Phone: +1 704-232-4551
ppatel@epri.com
Vice-Chair/Secr: Charles Sweetser
Phone: +1 617-901-6180
charles.sweetser@omicronenergy.com
Active . Fall 2019 Agenda 23Oct2019
. .
TF
Investigate Interaction between Substation Transients And Transformers in HV and EHV Transients Chair: Jim McBride
Phone:
jim@jmxhv.com
Active . . .
. .
TF
Factory Partial Discharge Limits Chair: Vinay Mehrotra
Phone:
vinay.mehrotra@spx.com
Active . . .
. .
C57.12.90 Continuous Revision
TF
Revision of Transient Tests Chair: Pierre Riffon
Phone: +1 450-448-8778
riffon@sympatico.ca
Active – Cont. . .
TF
External Dielectric Clearances Chair: Eric Davis
Phone: +1 816-822-3925
edavis@burnsmcd.com
Active . C57.12.00 Table 4 19Oct2012
Previous Mtg Docs
Survey Results 03Mar2012
Table 13 – Ph-Ph Clearance History 330kB
CAN/CSA -C88-M90, Table 6, External Clearances in Air 330kB
Background from Dielectric Test Subcommittee Minutes on Subject of Phase to Ground Clearances, S99 35kB May 2003
NESC Table 124-1, Fig. 124-1 (108 kB) May 2003
NESC 1993 Clearance Ref. pages (569 kB) May 2003
PH-GND Electrical Clearances Comparison Charts Rev. 3 (71 kB) May 2003
PH-GND Electrical Clearances Comparison Tables Rev. 3 (21 kB) May 2003
TF
Partial Discharge Tests for
Class I Transformers
Chair: Donald Ayers
Phone: +1 704-243-3222
donald.ayers@ieee.org
Vice-Chair: Javier Arteaga
Secretary: Israel Barrientos
Active . . Fall 2019 Presentation 29Oct2019
Fall 2019 Minutes-Unapproved 29Oct2019